Language

EN

Contact

Levy Guide No. 3 Levy on Repair and Maintenance of Electrical and Mechanical Works

Disclaimer

This publication is prepared by the Construction Industry Council (CIC) to provide guidance on levy on repair and maintenance of electrical and mechanical works but is NOT intended to constitute any legal or other professional advice on the provisions of the Construction Industry Council Ordinance or the Industrial Training (Construction Industry) Ordinance. Should there be any discrepancies between this publication and the two ordinances, the latter prevails.

Enquiries and Assistance

For enquiries and assistance, please contact the Finance Department of the CIC at –

7a/F, 95 Yue Kwong Road, Aberdeen, Hong Kong 
Tel - 2100 9200
Fax - 2100 9339
E-mail - levy@cic.hk

Purpose

  1. The guide aims to help levy payers understand that repair and maintenance of electrical and mechanical works (E&M works) are subject to construction levy under the Construction Industry Council Ordinance Cap 587 (“CICO”) and the Industrial Training (Construction Industry) Ordinance Cap 317 (“ITCIO”) (the amended edition in force as of 1 June 2004 and is now repealed).

Legislation History

  1. E&M works were originally excluded from the scope of construction levy. It was the subsequent revision of the ITCIO that included them in the definition of “construction operations” under Schedule 1 of the ITCIO. The enforcement date was 1 June 2004.
  2. When the original ITCIO was first drafted in 1975, the scope of “construction works” did not include E&M works such as installation, repair and maintenance of any air-conditioning plant, electricity supply system, lift, escalator, fire services installation etc.
  3. Since then, the scale of E&M works has been growing in importance in the construction industry. It was recommended that construction levy should also be imposed on the E&M works.
  4. Therefore, a new definition of “construction operations” was introduced in the ITCIO to encompass the E&M works 1.

Provisions of the CICO and ITCIO

  1. Before the amalgamation of Construction Industry Council and the former Construction Industry Training Authority on 1 January 2008, construction levy was assessed under the provisions of the ITCIO on construction works/operations carried out in Hong Kong.
  2. Under the CICO and ITCIO, construction levy is imposed on all “construction operations” carried out in Hong Kong. The term “construction operations” has the meaning assigned to it in the respective Schedule 1 of the CICO and ITCIO.
  3. The definitions of “construction operations” in Schedule 1 of both CICO and ITCIO are essentially identical and cover, among other items, the E&M works.
  4. For simplicity, where the interpretation below contains reference to the provisions of the CICO, it should be equally applicable to the equivalent provisions of the ITCIO.

Interpretation

  1. There is clear legislation intent that the existing definition of “construction operations” under Schedule 1 of the CICO was intended to cover E&M works previously excluded under the ITCIO2.
  2. Under Schedule 1 of the CICO, repair and maintenance works are included in the definition under Section 1(c)(i) “construction, alteration, repairmaintenance, extension, demolition or dismantling of any buildings, or other temporary or permanent structures forming, or to form, part of land;”.
  3. It is considered that the wordings “repair, maintenance of any buildings or other temporary or permanent structures forming, or to form, part of land” are equally applicable to any repair and maintenance of the E&M works installed in any buildings or structures forming, or to form part of land.
  4. It is considered that E&M works, once installed, should form part of the buildings, structures or lands and therefore come within the scope of “construction operations” as repair and maintenance of “any buildings, or structures” forming part of the land.
  5. Therefore, “repair” and “maintenance” of the E&M works constitute the “construction operations” of repairing and maintaining the buildings and/or structures forming part of the land after the installation of the subject E&M works.

Conclusion

  1. Accordingly, the E&M repair and maintenance works fall into the meaning of “construction operations” under both Section 1(c)(i) of Schedule 1 of the CICO and Section 1(c)(i)(A) of Schedule 1 of ITCIO – "repair, maintenance of any buildings or structures forming, or to form, part of the land" and are subject to construction levy.

- End -

1 Speech by Secretary for Education and Manpower on Second Reading of the Construction Industry Levy (Miscellaneous Amendments) Bill 2003 dated 9 April 2003.

2 Legco paper "Extension of Construction Industry levy to Cover Electrical and Mechanical Works in the Construction Industry" (LC Paper No. CB(2)2557/01-02(03)).


TOP

跳至主要內容
建造業議會 - CIC

第3號有關機電工程修葺、修理及保養的建造業徵款指引

徵款簡介第3號有關機電工程修葺、修理及保養的建造業徵款指引

免責聲明

本刊由建造業議會(議會)編寫,以提供有關機電工程的修葺、修理及保養的建造業徵款指引,惟並不擬作構成對《建造業議會條例》或《工業訓練(建造業)條例》的任何法律或其他專業意見。另外,倘本刊與該兩條法例出現任何歧義,則以該兩條法例為準。

 

查詢及協助

有關查詢及協助,請聯絡議會財務部,地址為:

香港香港仔漁光道95號7a樓
電話 - 2100 9200
傳真 - 2100 9339
電郵 - levy@cic.hk

 

目的

  1. 本指引的目標,是協助徵款付款人理解有關機電工程的修葺、修理及保養,在《建造業議會條例》(第587章)和《工業訓練(建造業)條例》(第317章)(指2004年6月1日起生效的修訂版本,條例現已廢除)下,須支付建造業徵款。

 

立法歷史

  1. 機電工程原本並不屬於建造業徵款的範圍。其後經過《工業訓練(建造業)條例》的修訂下,機電工程即獲納入《工業訓練(建造業)條例》附表1的「建造工程」定義之內。條例生效日期為2004年6月1日。
  2. 當原有《工業訓練(建造業)條例》於1975年首次草擬時,有關「建造工程」的範圍並不包括例如空氣調節機械、供電系統、升降機、自動梯、消防裝置等就安裝、修葺、修理及保養之機電工程。
  3. 隨著時間過去,機電工程的規模在建造業內,已日益重要。因此有建議亦須對機電工程徵收建造業徵款。
  4. 因此,有關「建造工程」的全新定義,已引入到《工業訓練(建造業)條例》,從而涵蓋所有機電工程1

 

《建造業議會條例》及《工業訓練(建造業)條例》的條文

  1. 於建造業議會與前建造業訓練局在2008年1月1日合併前,就本港進行的建造工程,有關建造業徵款是按照《工業訓練(建造業)條例》的條文,進行評估。
  2. 在《建造業議會條例》和《工業訓練(建造業)條例》下,就所有於本港進行的「建造工程」,均須徵收建造業徵款。「建造工程」一詞,按照《建造業議會條例》和《工業訓練(建造業)條例》相關附表1,均載有指定的意思。
  3. 《建造業議會條例》和《工業訓練(建造業)條例》附表1有關「建造工程」的定義,實質上如出一轍,並且除包括其他工程外,亦涵蓋各項機電工程。
  4. 為簡潔起見,當以下釋義載列提及《建造業議會條例》的條文時,有關內容同樣適用於《工業訓練(建造業)條例》的相對應條文。

 

釋義

  1. 有關「建造工程」在《建造業議會條例》附表1下的現行定義,確具備清晰立法用意,證明意欲涵蓋以往並不包括在《工業訓練(建造業)條例》之各項機電工程2
  2. 在《建造業議會條例》附表1下,修葺、修理及保養工程獲納入第1(c)(i)條的「建造、改動、修葺修理保養、擴建、拆卸或拆除任何建築物,或其他構成或將會構成土地一部分的臨時或永久構築物」定義之內。
  3. 關於「修葺、修理、保養任何建築物或其他構成或將會構成土地一部分的臨時或永久構築物」的用詞,被認為同樣適用於裝設在構成或將會構成土地一部分的任何建築物或構築物的任何機電工程的修葺、修理及保養上。
  4. 現時認為,機電工程一旦已被裝設,即構成建築物、構築物或土地的一部分,並因此成為構成土地一部分的「任何建築物或構築物」之修葺、修理及保養,繼而納入「建造工程」的範圍。
  5. 因此,於裝設上述機電工程後,則機電工程的「修葺、修理」及「保養」,會成為修葺、修理及保養構成土地一部分的建築物及/或構築物的「建造工程」。

 

結論

  1. 基於上述情況,機電修葺、修理及保養工程會納入《建造業議會條例》附表1第1(c)(i)條及《工業訓練(建造業)條例》附表1第1(c)(i)(A)條下,關於「建造工程」的含義 - 「修葺、修理及保養任何建築物或構成或將會構成土地一部分的構築物」,並須支付建造業徵款。

- 完 -

1 教育統籌局局長就2003年4月9日的《2003年建造業徵款(雜項修訂)條例草案》二讀的致辭。

2 立法會文件《把建造業徵款範圍擴展至包括建造業內的機電工程》(立法會CB(2)2557/01-02(03)號文件)。

最後更新:2018-07-23 10:26:36