Skip to main content
CIC

About “Designated Workers for Designated Skills” Provision

About The Designated Workers for Designated Skills ("DWDS") Provision

Disclaimer

Whilst reasonable efforts have been made to ensure the accuracy of the information contained herein, the Construction Industry Council (CIC) nevertheless would encourage readers to seek appropriate independent advice from their professional advisers where possible. Readers should not treat or rely on such information as a substitute for such independent professional advice.

The information provided below is for general reference only and should not be treated as inclusive of all matters and requirements in relation to Construction Workers Registration Ordinance (Cap. 583) (CWRO). For a complete statement of the law, direct reference should be made to the CWRO itself.  The information provided herein will not affect the functions and powers conferred upon the CIC under the CWRO.

 

1) What is the DWDS requirement?

The “designated workers for designated skills” requirement of the CWRO came into effect on 1 April 2017.  It provides that construction works involving the skills of any designated trade division shall be carried out by the registered skilled/semi-skilled workers (including provisional registration) of that designated trade division, except in prescribed cicumstances.

 

2) Under what circumstances can a registered construction worker carry out skilled work of a designated trade division while not being registered as a registered skilled/semi-skilled worker of that trade division?

A registered construction worker without registration in a designated trade division is allowed to carry out construction works involving the skills of such designated trade division if :

(i) the worker carries out the work under the instruction and supervision of registered skilled/semi-skilled worker(s) of the relevant designated trade division;

(ii) the worker carries out the work under the “working across trade divisions” arrangement as permitted under the CWRO; or

(iii) the worker carries out exempted work as specified in the Construction Workers Registration (Exemption) Regulation (Cap. 583C).

 

3) Does the DWDS requirement apply to maintenance works?

The DWDS requirement is not yet effective for the following works:

(i) maintenance work, carried out under a term contract for maintenance, of specified structures (defined in Schedule 3 of the CWRO) owned by, or otherwise belonging to, a public body or a specified body (defined in Schedule 2 of the CWRO);

(ii) construction work (other than maintenance work in item (i) above) under a construction contract in which the total value of all construction operations does not exceed HK$10 million; and

(iii) class I & II minor works under the Building (Minor Works) Regulation (Cap. 123N) (Note: Class III minor works are not regulated by the CWRO).

Nevertheless, principal contractors, employers of workers, and construction workers involved in the above construction works are still required to comply with the other provisions of the CWRO that are already in effect (such as providing electronic card reading devices and submitting daily attendance records of workers).

 

4) Am I required to deploy registered skilled/semi-skilled workers to carry out the work on my site?

To determine whether construction works should be carried out by registered skilled/semi-skilled workers, the following two principles shall apply:

(i) There are currently 142 designated trade divisions as set out in Schedule 1 of the CWRO for workers to register as registered skilled/semi-skilled workers of relevant designated trade divisions according to their qualifications. If the construction work to be carried out does not fall within the scope of the 142 designated trade divisions, in general, workers carrying out such work are only required to register as registered construction workers (which may include registration as registered general workers) to satisfy the registration requirement of the CWRO.

(ii) If the construction work to be carried out will involve the skills as specified in the description of skills of a designated trade division in Schedule 1, workers carrying out such work are required to register as registered skilled/semi-skilled workers (including provisional registration) for the relevant designated trade division, unless they are working under the instruction and supervision of relevant registered skilled/semi-skilled worker(s), carrying out the work under the working across trade divisions arrangement or carrying out exempted work as specified under the Construction Workers Registration (Exemption) Regulation. See also the answer to Question 2 above.

Principal contractors of construction sites and employers of workers are advised to review the whole work process to assess if any skilled work of the designated trade divisions as stipulated in Schedule 1 of the CWRO is involved and deploy the relevant skilled workers to carry out such works as necessary.

 

5) Should vehicle drivers register as registered construction workers under the CWRO?

Drivers who drive any type of vehicles that are covered by Schedule 1 of the CWRO within, into or out of construction sites for carrying out construction work should be registered as registered skilled workers of the relevant designated trade divisions. In the circumstances that the type of vehicle the driver drives for carrying out construction work is not covered by Schedule 1 of the CWRO, the driver is still required to register as a registered construction worker (which may include registration as a registered general worker).

 

6) If I am only responsible for transporting construction materials to or from construction sites, do I need to register as a registered construction worker?

No matter whether by vehicle, vessel or other means of transportation, registration as a registered construction worker is not required if a person is only responsible for transporting construction materials to or from a construction site and does not personally carry out any construction work on the site.

 

7) If I am responsible for transporting construction materials within a construction site, do I need to register as a registered construction worker?

No matter whether by vehicle, vessel or other means of transportation, registration as a registered construction worker is required if a person is responsible for transporting construction materials within a construction site.


8) If skills of different trade divisions are involved in a work process, will it be necessary for a worker performing the work to be registered for all related trade divisions? 

Industry practitioners can evaluate the need to deploy registered skilled/semi-skilled workers by referring to the skill descriptions of the 142 designated trade divisions as stipulated in Schedule 1 of the CWRO, the working across trade divisions arrangement in the CWRO and the exempted works specified in the Construction Workers Registration (Exemption) Regulation.

Examples:

The construction of bored piles to be carried out by a Piling Operative (Bored Pile) (C330a) may involve the operation of tremie pipes to facilitate the concreting work.  If the tremie concreting step does not involve the work of a Concreter (C309) according to the description of skills in Schedule 1 of the CWRO, in general, such work might not be required to be carried out by a Concretor (C309).

The construction of bored piles to be carried out by a Piling Operative (Bored Pile) (C330a) may involve jointing reinforcement cages by using mainly clamps and U-bolts.  If the jointing work does not involve the work of a Bar Bender and Fixer (C304) according to the description of skills in Schedule 1 of the CWRO, in general, such work might not be required to be carried out by a Bar Bender and Fixer (C304).

The ground investigation work to be carried out by a Ground Investigation Operator/Driller/Borer (C320) may involve backfilling of the drill hole by delivery of material to fill up the drill-hole.  If only non-pressure grouting work is involved, it is likely not within the skill description of a Grouting Worker (C321), so in general, such work might not be required to be carried out by a Grouting Worker (C321).


9) If the skill involved in the construction work does not appear in Schedule 1 of the CWRO, how do workers register under the CWRO?

If the works to be carried out are out of the scope of the 142 designated trade divisions, in general, workers carrying out such works are only required to register as registered construction workers (which may include registration as registered general workers) to satisfy the registration requirement of the CWRO.

Example:

Erecting and dismantling of tower cranes, operating drilling machines for the construction of soil nails, installing timber supports for excavations in trial pits, operating piling machines (mini-piles / socketed steel H-piles / pipe piles), or installing bearing / movement joints for the construction of bridges do not appear in Schedule 1 of the CWRO. In general, workers carrying out such works might be only required to register as registered construction workers (which may include registration as registered general workers), to satisfy the registration requirement of the CWRO.


10) Do signalmen for hoisting operations or workers performing rigging work have to register as a Rigger/Metal Formwork Erector (C341)?

The description of skills for “Rigger/Metal Formwork Erector” (C341) in Schedule 1 of the CWRO reads “setting up lifting apparatus and equipment for lifting and lowering materials; fixing and dismantling large panel metal formwork”. By its literal meaning, this designated trade division appears to be mainly for workers who fix and dismantle large panel metal formworks and carry out the associated setting up of lifting apparatus and equipment for lifting and lowering materials. In general, signalmen for hoisting operations or workers performing rigging work might be only required to register as registered construction workers (which may include registration as registered general workers) to satisfy the registration requirement of the CWRO.


11) What actions should a principal contractor/employer of workers take so that workers, not being registered under a designated trade division, may carry out works involving skills of that designated trade division?

The principal contractor/employer of workers should:

(i) arrange registered skilled/semi-skilled worker(s) of the related designated trade division to provide instruction and supervision to registered construction workers (not being registered under such designated trade division) to carry out the construction work of the designated trade division; and

(ii) implement reasonable measures to ensure that the workers under instruction and supervision can identify the relevant skilled/semi-skilled workers, and inform the workers under instruction and supervision of such measures.

For more details, please refer to:

Guidelines on Arrangement of “Instruction and Supervision” and Code of Practice for Reasonable Measures of “Instruction and Supervision”.


12) Is there any requirement on the ratio of instructors and workers under instruction and supervision? Are they required to work near each other on the construction site?

The principal contractor/employer of workers shall, based on the actual situation of the construction site and the construction works, determine the appropriate number and ratio of instructors and workers under instruction and supervision to ensure that the instructors can effectively instruct and supervise the workers under instruction and supervision. Instructors and workers under instruction and supervision need to be on duty on the same construction site and be able to identify each other (for instance, knowing each other’s name / nickname and contact method). 


13) If workers bring along only their qualification cards such as trade test certificate to perform skilled works independently on construction sites, do they comply with the CWRO?

No.  A trade test certificate is not equivalent to a construction workers registration card.  The CWRO requires workers to hold valid construction worker registration cards while carrying out construction works on site. Only workers with registrations for the required designated trade divisions shown on/stored on their registration cards are allowed to personally carry out the skilled works of the relevant designated trade divisions on construction sites (except in prescribed circumstances as set out in the answer to Question 2 above). 


14) What are the consequences for non-compliance with the DWDS requirement?

Contraventions of the DWDS requirement are criminal offences and are liable on conviction to fines as follows:

(i) Any person who is not a registered skilled/semi-skilled worker (including provisional registration) of a designated trade division personally carrying out construction work involving the skills of that designated trade division is liable on conviction to a fine at level 3 of HK$10,000;

(ii) Any person employing another person who is not a registered skilled/semi-skilled worker (including provisional registration) for a designated trade division to personally carry out construction work involving the skills of that trade division, as well as the principal contractor of that person, are liable on conviction to a fine at level 5 of HK$50,000;

(iii) If a principal contractor or employer of workers fails to implement reasonable measures, or inform the workers under instruction and supervision of such measures, for the arrangement of instruction and supervision, the principal contractor as well as the employer of workers are liable on conviction to a fine at level 3 of HK$10,000.

 

Last Updated: 2021-01-12 15:10:00

跳至主要內容
建造業議會 - CIC

有關「專工專責」條文

有關「專工專責」條文

免責聲明

儘管建造業議會(議會)已盡合理努力以確保在此載列的資料均屬準確,惟議會仍鼓勵讀者須在可能的情況下,向其專業顧問尋求適當獨立意見,並且讀者不應將該些資料視作或依賴該些資料該等獨立專業意見的替代。

以下所載的資料僅供一般參考之用,不應被視為已包括全部有關《建造業工人註冊條例》(第583章)(《條例》)的事項及規定。關於法例的完整內容,應直接參考《條例》。在此所提供的資料不會影響或損害議會根據《條例》執行其任何職能及權力。

 

1) 什麽是「專工專責」規定?

《條例》的「專工專責」規定於 2017 年 4 月 1 日起實施。除訂明情況外,條文規定涉及任何指定工種分項的技能的建造工作必須由該指定工種分項的註冊熟練 / 半熟練技工(包括臨時註冊)進行。

 

2) 在何等情況下,非指定工種分項註冊熟練/半熟練技工的註冊建造業工人可進行該指定工種分項的技能工作?

非註冊於指定工種分項的註冊建造業工人在以下情況可進行涉及該指定工種分項的技能的建造工作:

(i) 該工人在相關指定工種分項的註冊熟練 / 半熟練技工的指示及督導下進行工作;

(ii) 該工人在《條例》容許的「跨技能工作」安排下進行工作;或

(iii) 該工人進行《建造業工人註冊(豁免)規例》(第583章附屬法例C)所指定的豁免工作。

 

3) 「專工專責」規定適用於保養工作嗎?

「專工專責」規定暫未實施於以下的工程︰

(i) 根據固定期保養合約對公共機構或指明機構 (《條例》的附表2所界定)所擁有或以其他方式屬於該機構的指明構築物 (於《條例》的附表3所界定)進行的保養工作;

(ii) 根據所有建造工程總價值不超過港幣 1,000 萬元的建造合約而進行的建造工作(上述第(i)項的保養工作除外);及

(iii) 建築物(小型工程)規例》(第123章附屬法例N)下第 I 及 II 級別的小型工程(註:第 III 級別小型工程不受《條例》規管)。

然而,上述建造工作涉及的總承建商、工人的聘用人及建造業工人仍須符合《條例》其他已經生效的規定(例如提供電子讀證裝置及提交工人的每日出勤紀錄)。

 

4) 我是否需要安排註冊熟練/半熟練技工到我的工地工作?

對於是否應由註冊熟練/半熟練技工進行建造工作,應遵循以下兩項原則:

(i) 現時《條例》附表1設有142個指定工種分項,供工人根據其資格註冊為相關指定工種分項的註冊熟練 / 半熟練技工。如要進行的建造工作屬於142個指定工種分項以外的工作,一般而言,進行該工作的工人只須註冊為註冊建造業工人(可包括註冊為註冊普通工人),便可符合《條例》的註冊規定。

(ii) 如要進行的建造工作涉及附表1指定工種分項的「技能描述」所指定的技能,進行該工作的工人須註冊為相關指定工種分項的註冊熟練 / 半熟練技工(包括臨時註冊),除非他們是在相關註冊熟練 / 半熟練技工的指示及督導下工作、在「跨技能工作」安排下進行工作或進行《建造業工人註冊(豁免)規例》指定的豁免工作。請參考上述問題2的答案。

建造工地的總承建商及工人的聘用人應檢視整個工作過程中,以評估當中會否涉及《條例》附表1的指定工種分項的任何技能工作,並按需要安排相關熟練技工進行該些工作。

 

5) 車輛駕駛員須根據《條例》註冊為註冊建造業工人嗎?

為進行建造工作,在建造工地範圍內駕駛《條例》附表1所涵蓋的任何車輛類型,或駕駛該等車輛進入或離開建造工地,駕駛員須註冊為相關指定工種分項的註冊熟練技工。若駕駛的車輛類型並不涵蓋於《條例》附表1內,相關駕駛員仍須註冊為註冊建造業工人(可包括註冊為註冊普通工人)。

 

6) 如果我只負責運送建築材料往返建造工地,是否需要註冊為註冊建造業工人?

任何人如只負責運送建築材料往返建造工地(不論是經由車輛、船隻或其它運送方式),而不親自在工地進行任何建造工作,則毋須註冊為註冊建造業工人。

 

7) 如果我負責在建造工地範圍內運送建築材料,是否需要註冊為註冊建造業工人?

任何人如負責在建造工地範圍內運送建築材料(不論是經由車輛、船隻或其它運送方式),必須註冊為註冊建造業工人。


8) 如工作過程中涉及不同工種分項的技能,進行工作的工人是否須註冊所有相關指定工種分項?

業界可根據《條例》附表1列明的142個指定工種分項的技能描述、《條例》的「跨技能工作」安排及《建造業工人註冊(豁免)規例》指定的豁免工作,評估安排註冊熟練 / 半熟練技工工作的需要。

舉例:

由打樁工(鑽孔樁)(C330a)建造的鑽孔樁可能涉及操作水下澆注管 (tremie pipes),以協助進行混凝土工作。如水下澆注混凝土 (tremie concreting)的工序不涉及《條例》附表1中混凝土工(C309)的技能描述內的工作,一般而言,該等工作可能無須由混凝土工(C309)負責。

由打樁工(鑽孔樁)(C330a)建造的鑽孔樁可能涉及接駁鋼筋籠(俗稱豬籠)工序,主要以夾鉗及十字花扣(俗稱U碼)接駁鋼筋籠。如接駁工序不涉及《條例》附表1中鋼筋屈紮工(C304)的技能描述內的工作,一般而言,該等工作可能無須由鋼筋屈紮工(C304)負責。

由岩土勘探工 / 鑽井工 / 鑽孔工(C320)進行的岩土勘探工作可能涉及輸送物料至鑽孔內(以填滿鑽孔)的鑽孔回填工作。如屬不涉及壓力的普通灌漿工作,則很可能不在「灌漿工」(C321)技能描述內,一般而言,該等工作可能無須由「灌漿工」(C321)負責。


9) 如進行的建造工作所涉及的技能不在《條例》附表 1 內,相關工人該如何根據《條例》註冊?

若工人進行《條例》附表1的142個指定工種分項以外的技能工作,一般而言,進行該等工作的工人只須為註冊建造業工人(可包括註冊為註冊普通工人),以符合《條例》的註冊規定。

舉例:

《條例》附表1内沒有安裝及拆卸塔式起重機、為建造泥釘工程操作鑽孔機、在泥坑架設木料擋板、操作打樁機(微型樁 / 嵌入岩石工字樁 / 鋼管樁),以及安裝橋樑承載軸承 / 伸縮縫的相關工種分項。一般而言,進行該等工作的工人可能只須為註冊建造業工人(可包括註冊為註冊普通工人),便可符合《條例》有關註冊的規定。


10) 從事吊運訊號員或「埋碼」的工人是否須註冊成爲索具工(叻㗎)/ 金屬模板裝嵌工(C341)?

《條例》附表1「索具工(叻㗎)/ 金屬模板裝嵌工」的技能描述為「裝設吊升台架及設備,以起落輸送物料;裝嵌及拆除大型金屬模板」。按字面涵義,該指定工種分項的看來主要對象為負責裝嵌及拆除大型金屬模板和進行相關裝設吊升台架及設備,以起落輸送物料的工人。一般而言,只從事吊運訊號員或「埋碼」的工人,可能只須註冊為註冊建造業工人(可包括註冊為註冊普通工人),便可符合《條例》有關註冊的規定。


11) 總承建商 / 工人的聘用人應該採取什麼行動使非註冊於指定工種分項的工人可進行涉及指定工種分項的技能的工作?

總承建商 / 工人的聘用人須:

(i) 安排相關指定工種分項的註冊熟練 / 半熟練技工提供指示及督導予(非註冊於該指定工種分項)註冊建造業工人進行該指定工種分項的建造工作;及

(ii) 採取合理措施以確保指示及督導下的工人可以識辨相關註冊熟練/半熟練技工並讓在指示及督導下的工人知悉該等措施。

詳情請參閲「指示及督導」安排的指引及其合理措施的《實務守則》 


12) 指導人與被指導人的比例有何規定?指導人與被指導人是否需要在旁工作?

總承建商 / 工人的聘用人應按建造工地和建造工作的實際情況,訂定合適的指導人和指示及督導下的工人的人數和比例,確保指導人能有效地向指示及督導下的工人提供指示及督導。指導人與指示及督導下的工人應在同一建造工地當值及能互相識辨(例如知道對方的名稱/稱呼及聯絡方法)。


13) 如工人只攜帶相關的證書 / 牌照例如工藝測試證書,在建造工地獨立進行技能工作,是否符合《條例》的規定?

否。工藝測試證書不等於建造業工人註冊證。《條例》要求工人在工地進行建造工作時,須持有有效的建造業工人註冊證。只有其建造業工人註冊證已顯示 / 儲存所需指定工種分項註冊的註冊建造業工人可准予在建造工地親自進行相關指定工種分項的技能工作(如問題2答案所述的訂明情況除外)。


14) 違反「專工專責」規定會有甚麼後果?

違反「專工專責」規定即屬刑事罪行,一經定罪可處罰款,詳情如下:

(i) 任何非指定工種分項的註冊熟練 / 半熟練技工(包括臨時註冊)的人士於建造工地親自進行涉及該指定工種分項的技能的建造工作,一經定罪可處第3級罰款港幣10,000元;

(ii) 任何人如僱用非指定工種分項的註冊熟練 / 半熟練技工(包括臨時註冊)於建造工地親自進行涉及該工種分項技能的建造工作,一經定罪可處第5級罰款港幣 50,000元,其總承建商亦然;

(iii) 如總承建商或工人的聘用人未有就指示及督導安排採取合理措施,或未有讓指示及督導下的工人知悉該等措施,一經定罪可處第3級罰款港幣10,000元。

最後更新:2021-01-12 15:10:00