Language

EN

Contact

About Construction Workers Registration Ordinance

1) What are the objectives of the Construction Workers Registration Ordinance (CWRO)?

CWRO stipulates registered construction workers to personally carry out construction works on construction sites, its objectives include:

  1. To ensure the quality of construction works through assessment and certification of the skill levels of construction workers
  2. To ensure the availability of a more reliable data on labour supply to facilitate manpower planning and training
  3. To provide workers with a clear career path in aspiration of a higher skill level and a higher position, fostering a quality culture in the construction industry
  4. To help combat the hiring of illegal workers on construction sites
  5. To assist in resolving wage disputes between contractors and workers with the availability of site entry and exit records

 

2) Who/ which type of workers need to register?

All persons carrying out construction works at construction sites should register. The main target group of registration are workers in the construction industry (including building, civil and E&M engineering works), including Marine Construction Plant Operators who operate boom-grab bucket, boom-hook or derrick at sea. The list of designated trades and their required certificates / qualifications is appended in Schedule 1 of the CWRO.

If Registered Construction Worker carries out works which are regulated simultaneously by other legislation, they shall be conducted in accordance with the relevant statutory requirements apart from the Construction Workers Registration Ordinance.

Examples

General Welder(C318) who performs gas welding and flame cutting work must hold a valid certificate obtained after completing a recognized training course in accordance with the Factories and Industrial Undertakings (Gas Welding and Flame Cutting) Regulation.

If Refrigeration/Air-conditioning/Ventilation Mechanic (Electrical Control)(E314b) carries out works which involve live electrical work, they shall be carried out by Registered Electrical Worker and in accordance with the Electricity Ordinance.

 

3) How to define a “construction site”?

To put it simply, a construction site means a place where construction work is being, or will be, carried out while a completion certificate has not yet been issued for construction work conducted in this place (i.e. the construction work is not yet completed).

 

4) What is “construction work”?

There are specific and elaborated definitions of “construction work” under the CWRO. To put it simply, “construction work” refers to the works involved in any construction operation.

 

5) What are “Prohibition Provisions”? When will Prohibition Provisions come into effect officially?

The stipulations in Part 2 of the CWRO prohibit against unregistered construction workers carrying out construction works on construction sites and prohibit against employing unregistered construction workers to carry out construction works on construction sites. The first phase of Prohibition was implemented from 1 September 2007. The remaining phase of Prohibition "Designated workers for designated skills" will be put in force in April 2017.

 

6) If CIC finds unregistered workers working on construction sites, what actions will it take? Will those workers be prosecuted? What penalties will they face? (e.g. fine, imprisonment, summons, etc) Who, contractors or workers, will be liable if there is a prosecution or a fine?

If CIC finds unregistered workers working on construction sites, the workers concerned will be prosecuted. Workers will be liable on conviction to a fine at level 3 (a maximum fine of HK$10,000). Direct employers and main contractors of the workers concerned will also be liable to this. They will be liable on conviction to a fine at level 5 (a maximum fine of HK$50,000).

 

7) When should a registration card be brought along?

According to the CWRO, workers should bring along and present their registration cards when carrying out construction work on construction sites.

 

8) Why general workers, who are not required for specific qualifications, should obtain the workers registration cards when they have a “Green Card” already?

One of the objectives of the registration system is to obtain an accurate number of workers working on construction sites, while Green Card holders might not be construction workers or working on construction sites, therefore all general workers are required to get registered.

A workers Registration Card proves that the card holder is a registered construction worker. When the worker enters the construction site, his/her information will be verified by a card reader so that the contractor will be able to capture the information precisely. Besides combating against unlawful employment of workers, the system also helps reduce wage disputes between employers and employees. Green Card has no such function.

 

9) Is registration required when site supervisors and engineers enter construction sites? If they demonstrate shoveling, bar bending and fixing, etc. do they need register?

The CWRO is not applicable to other practitioners working at construction sites such as supervisors, technicians and engineers etc. If the concerned supervisors and engineers conduct work demonstration, they do not need registration. The former Construction Workers Registration Authority had issued “Administrative Guidelines on the Applicability of the Registration Requirements to Professional and Technical Personnel”, which can be downloaded from the Information Centre in this website.

 

10) How does the levy system work? Who is liable to pay the levy?

In accordance with Construction Workers Registration (Levy) Notice gazette on 3 December 2004, the former Construction Workers Registration Authority (CWRA) started collecting levy from construction operations, in Hong Kong or undertaken by Hong Kong contractors, with a total value of one million dollars and above at a rate of 0.03% since 24 February 2005. CIC continues to collect levy after the amalgamation of CIC and former CWRA on 1 January 2013.


TOP

跳至主要內容

有關《建造業工人註冊條例》

有關《建造業工人註冊條例》

1) 《建造業工人註冊條例》(《條例》)目的是甚麼﹖

《條例》規範建造業工人於建造工地親自進行建造工作 ,立法目的包括

  • 通過考核及認證建造業工人的技術水平以確保施工質素;
  • 提供更多可靠的人力資源資料,促進人力資源規劃和培訓 ;
  • 提高建造業工人的地位,在建造業中培育優質文化;
  • 有助打擊於建造工地僱用非法勞工;
  • 提供工人每天於工地的出入記錄以減少承建商和工人之間勞資糾紛。

 

2) 甚麼人/從事哪一類建造工作的工人需要註冊?

所有在建造工地親自進行建造工作的人,均須註冊。主要對象是從事建造業(包括在建築、土木及機電工程業)的工人,其中亦包括在海上進行建造工作而須操作吊臂(夾吊)、操作吊臂(吊)、或操作吊桿的海面建造機械操作工。有關需註冊的指定工種和所要求的證書/資格詳錄於《建造業工人註冊條例》附表1。

倘若註冊建造業工人從事的工作同時受其他法例規管,除了要遵守《建造業工人註冊條例》外,亦必須同時按該()法定規定進行。

舉例:

普通焊接工(C318)如涉及進行氣體焊接及火焰切割工作,按《工廠及工業經營(氣體焊接及火焰切割)規例》必須受過認可訓練並持有有效證書。

空調製冷設備技工(電力控制)( E314b) 如涉及帶電工作,按《電力條例》必須由註冊電業工程人員進行及符合相關規定。

 

3) 如何界定「建造工地」?

簡單說,建造工地指進行或將會進行建造工作的地方,而在這地方進行的建造工作仍未發出完工證明(即建造工作仍未完成)。

 

4) 何謂「建造工作」?

建造工作在《建造業工人註冊條例》內有明確及詳細的定義。簡單來說,「建造工作」是指任何建造工程所涉及的工作。

 

5) 何謂「禁止條文」?該條文何時會正式生效?

《建造業工人註冊條例》第2部有關「禁止」的條文規定,禁止未經註冊的建造業工人在建造工地進行建造工作,及禁止僱用未經註冊的建造業工人進行有關工作。

2007年9月1日生效。修訂《建造業工人註冊條例》已於2015年4月1日生效,餘下階段禁止條文,即「專工專責」規定,將於2017年4月1日實施。

 

6) 若在禁止條文實施後,議會發現有未註冊的工人在地盤工作,會採取甚麼行動?該些工人會否被檢椌?他們將面對甚麼刑責?(例如:罰款、坐監、票控等)若會檢控或罰款,會由承建商還是工人本身承擔?

3級罰款 (最高罰款額為港幣一萬元)。直接僱用工人的僱主和總承建商亦要為此事負責,兩者一經定罪,可處第5級罰款(最高罰款額為港幣五萬元)。

 

7) 何時須攜帶註冊證?

根據《建造業工人註冊條例》,工友必須攜帶及出示註冊證,才可在建造工地進行建造工作。

 

8) 註冊普通工人只需持有效平安卡,毋須其他特別技能資格,哪為何這批工人在取得平安卡後,仍要多申請一張註冊證?

持有平安卡的人並不一定在建造工地工作或本身是建造業工人,由於註冊的其中一個目的是希望可準確掌握在工地工作的工人人數,故此這些工人都必須註冊。

此外,獲註冊的工人會獲發給一張智能註冊證以證明持有人是註冊建造業工人,工人在進入工地時,須經讀證裝置核實工人資料,工人才可進入工地工作,使承建商準確掌握工人在工地工作的資料,除可幫助打擊非法勞工,亦可減少勞資雙方在工資上的糾紛,而平安卡並無此等功能。

 

9) 地盤管工、工程師等進入地盤,要否註冊?若他們在地盤向工人示範剷泥、扎鐵等動作,又要否註冊?

《建造業工人註冊條例》並不適用於其他在建造工地工作的從業員如管工、技術員及工程師等。若所述管工及工程師是處理工作示範,他們是不需註冊的。 前管理局已發佈就註冊規定對專業及技術人員的適用性的行政指引。指引可於網頁內的資訊中心下載。

 

10) 徵款制度如何?誰被徵款?

根據2004年12月3日刊憲的《建造業工人註冊(徵款)公告》,前管理局於2005年2月24日開始就總值港幣100萬元以上在香港承辦或進行的建造工程向承建商徵收徵款,徵款率為0.03%。於2013年1月1日建造業議會與前管理局合併後,建造業議會繼續徵收此徵款。

最後更新:2018-07-23 10:26:48