Language

EN

Contact

About Application for Construction Workers Registration

1) How many categories of registrations are provided? How to distinguish between different categories? How do workers know which categories do they belong to?

According to the Construction Workers Registration Ordinance (CWRO), 5 categories of construction worker registration include:

(1)   Registered Skilled Worker

(for designated trade division)

Hold a trade test certificate issued by the Construction Industry Council (CIC) or former Construction Industry Training Authority (CITA) or Vocational Training Council (VTC), or other qualifications as specified by the CWRO (e.g. other recognized registration, certificates or licenses, etc)

(2)   Registered Skilled Worker (Provisional)

(for designated trade division)

For those not holding qualifications listed in item (1), they shall possess not less than 6 years* of experience to personally carry out construction work of a particular trade with documentary proof

(3)   Registered Semi-skilled Worker

(for designated trade division)

Hold an intermediate trade test certificate issued by CIC or former CITA or VTC, or other qualifications as specified by the CWRO

(4)   Registered Semi-skilled Worker (Provisional)

(for designated trade division)

For those not holding qualifications listed in item (3), they shall possess not less than 2 years* of experience to personally carry out construction work of a particular trade with documentary proof

Registered General Worker

Hold a valid “Green Card”

A worker can apply for appropriate category of registration based on his/her own technical qualification(s) or needs.

* According to the CWRO, the total years of work experience can be calculated up to the effective date of the relevant provisions of the CWRO, i.e. 29 December 2005.

 

2) When a worker apply for registration of skilled worker, he/she shall hold a trade test certificate issued by the Construction Industry Council (CIC), former Construction Industry Training Authority (CITA), Vocational Training Council (VTC), or other specified qualifications. What is a “trade test certificate”? And what do “other specified qualifications” refer to?

A “trade test certificate” refers to the certified qualification obtained after passing the trade test organized by CIC, former CITA or VTC for workers with working experience of 4 years or above.

A worker, who has completed specified apprenticeship training and obtained a graduation certificate of apprenticeship, can apply for exemption and obtain a “trade test certificate” from CIC or VTC.

Workers with working experience of 2 years can obtain intermediate trade test certificates after passing intermediate trade tests.

“Other specified qualifications” refer that workers who carry out relevant works must hold relevant recognized qualifications under the existing legislation, otherwise, it will constitute an offence. For example, an Electrical Fitter must hold registration certificate for electrical worker of grade A, B, C or H electrical work issued under Section 30 of Electricity Ordinance. For “Plant and Equipment Operator (Truck-mounted Crane)”, a worker must hold the certificate stated under Section 15A(1)(b) of Factories and Industrial Undertakings (Lifting Appliances and Lifting Gear) Regulations applicable to truck-mounted crane, etc.

 

3) How to apply for workers registration and what documents are required?

Applicants are required to bring the following documents (both originals and copies), together with the completed application form and registration fee. Submission can be made at one of the Workers Registration Services Points:

*If workers holding Green Card or Trade Test Certificates issued by the CIC or former CITA, he/she does not require to bring the originals and copies of such documents as the information can be verified by computer.

How to apply:

1) Appointment by Phone
Please call 2873 1911 in 1 to 28 days before the date of application to register for the date, time and office (appointment by fax or e-mail will not be accepted). Applicants who have made an appointment by telephone must arrive the Workers Registration Services Points 15 minutes before your scheduled appointment time; or

2) Group Submission of Application Forms
Companies/employers/organisations are welcome to help their workers to submit group application. Please call 2873 3002 to make an appointment.

 

4) How long does it take to process an application?

If the application form has been completed correctly and submitted together with the originals and photocopies of the required documents, each application will take an average of 15 minutes to process.

 

5) How long is the construction worker registration card valid for? How to renew the registration?

The construction workers registration card is normally valid for 5 years. Workers can apply for renewal at Workers Registration Services Locations no earlier than 6 months and no later than 7 days before the expiry date of the current registration.

 

6) Is half of the registration fee required only if a worker holds “other qualifications” (in column 4 of Schedule 1 under the CWRO) of the trade division he/she applies for registration? Why is there such an arrangement?

"Other qualifications" are specific job qualifications required by relevant legislations. Workers are required to pay for the renewal of other qualifications, thus only half of the registration fee will be charged to reduce financial burden on workers.

 

7) How much is the registration fee of apply for more than one trade division?

Application for registration of more than one trade division, registration fee of only one of the trade divisions is required

If the worker holds “other qualifications” (in column 4 of Schedule 1 under) of any of his/her trade divisions, the lowest fee will be charged.

 

8) Is there a deadline for provisional registration?
Provisional registration is a transitional arrangement. Workers who have not yet obtained trade test certificates or other specified qualifications (e.g. other recognized registration certificates or licenses, etc) issued by CIC or the former CICTA or VTC can apply for registration as skilled workers (provisional) or semi-skilled workers (provisional) respectively with proof of 6 years or 2 years work experience of relevant trades. Announcement will be made by CIC on the deadline of provisional registration.

Registered skilled workerProvisional: A worker who has completed specified training course(s), or has passed relevant trade test(s) within 3 years after obtaining his/her provisional registration(s) is eligible for applying as a skilled worker in relevant trade(s).  Announcement will be made by CIC on the enrolment closing date for specified training courses.

Registered semi-skilled workerProvisional: A worker who has passed intermediate trade test(s) of relevant trade(s) within 3 years after obtaining his/her provisional registration is eligible for applying as semi-skilled worker in relevant trade(s).

 

9) What is the consequence if a worker fails to complete the specified training course or pass relevant trade test in 3 years after he/she obtained the provisional registration?

The worker can register as a general worker with a valid Green Card.

 

10) What is “Specified Training Courses”? What does it cover?

Specified training courses are introduced for registered skilled workers (provisional) to register as skilled workers after completing the courses and passing the assessment.

After consultation with industry and trade unions, the specified training courses cover theoretical lectures, practical demonstrations, written examination or interview assessment. Theoretical lectures include specification and application of materials, knowledge of the trade, safety precaution, code of ethics and good construction process.

Specified Training Courses will generally last for a day. Evening courses will be arranged where possible to minimise any inconvenience caused to workers.

The written test is in a multiple-choice format and covers theoretical lectures only. Verbal test can be conducted for illiterate workers. Specified Training Courses for all trade divisions are at a flat rate fee HK$150.

A total of 67 specified training courses have been launched, Registered Skilled Workers (Provisional) will receive the notice with details such as admission and course contents.

 

11) Are Registered Skilled Workers (Provisional) eligible to register as Skilled Workers after completing the Specified Training Courses?

Yes. Registered Skilled Workers (Provisional) can apply for registration of Skilled Worker after completing the Specified Training Courses of relevant trades.

 

12) I have applied for registration as construction worker. Can I work on construction sites before obtaining the registration card?

Workers who have completed the application for registration will receive a “Notification of Registration Card Collection” issued by CIC before collecting the registration cards. Workers with “Notification of Registration Card Collection” can work on construction sites. Main contractors/site supervisors should still submit the daily attendance record although the workers are unable to provide registration numbers. The above arrangement is an interim measure subject to review or modification by CIC.

 

13) I have the “Notification for Processing of Renewal of Registration” issued by CIC. Can I work on construction sites before obtaining the registration card?

If CIC is unable to process the registration renewal for workers on the date of application (except application by post), a provisional proof of “Notification for Processing of Renewal of Registration” will be issued. The worker is required to apply for registration renewal in person at the scheduled time.


TOP

有關申請建造業工人註冊

有關申請建造業工人註冊

1) 註冊共有幾多個類別及如何區分?工人如何知道自己是屬於哪一類別?

註冊共分5個類別,包括:

註冊類別

申請資格

(1) 註冊熟練技工
(指定工種)

持有《建造業工人註冊條例》所指由建造業議會或前建造業訓練局(建訓局)或職業訓練局(職訓局)所頒發的技能測試證書或其他指明的認可資格(例如其他認可的註冊、證書或牌照等)。

(2) 註冊熟練技工
(臨時)(指定工種)

申請人尚未持有第(1)項的資格但能證明已具備不少於6年* 親自進行相關工種的工作經驗。

(3) 註冊半熟練技工
(指定工種)

持有《建造業工人註冊條例》所指由建造業議會或前建訓局或職訓局所頒發的中工工藝測試證書或其他指明的認可資格。

(4) 註冊半熟練技工
(臨時)(指定工種)

申請人尚未持有第(3)項的資格但能證明已具備不少於2年* 親自進行相關工種的工作經驗。

註冊普通工人

持有平安卡。

工友應按自己持有的技能資格及工作需要申請合適類別的註冊。

* 按《《建造業工人註冊條例》》規定,總年資可計算至有關條款的生效日期,即2005年12月29日。

 

2) 申請註冊熟練技工,須持有建造業議 /前建造業訓練局或職業訓練局所頒發的技能測試證書或其他指明認可資格,當中所指的「技能測試證書」是甚麼?「指明認可資格」又是甚麼?

「技能測試證書」是指具4年或以上工作經驗的工友,透過參加建造業議會/前建造業訓練局或職業訓練局舉辦的工藝測試,合格後取得的資格證明。

工友可透過完成指定的學徒訓練及取得學徒訓練結業證書後,向建造業議會或職訓局申請豁免而取得「技能測試證書」。

而具2年工作經驗的工友則可參加中級工藝測試,合格後取得中級工藝測試證書。

「其他指明認可資格」是指按現行法例,工友必須持有有關的認可資格方可從事該項工作,否則便屬違法。例如「電氣裝配工」必須持有根據「電力條例」第30條發出的A,B,C或H級電力工程的電業工程人員的註冊證明書,而「機械設備操作工(貨車吊機)」必須持有按「工廠及工業經營(起重機械及起重裝置)規例」第15A(1)(b)條所提述並適用於貨車吊機的證明書等。

 

3) 辦理註冊手續時須帶備甚麼文件?可從甚麼方法申請註冊?

申請人士必須攜帶下列的證明文件(正本及副本一份)及註冊申請的費用,連同填妥的申請表,前往工人註冊處辦理註冊:

  • 香港身份證(如申請人為非香港永久居民,除身份證(如有)外,必須同時出示單程證或具有與申請工種有關的有效工作簽證的護照/旅遊證件或其他證明文件。)
  • 有效的平安卡*(由申請當日起計算,剩餘的有效期最少有30天。)
  • 註冊工種資歷證明文件*
  • 註冊申請費用

*若工友持有建造業議會或前建造業訓練局發出的平安卡或測試證書,因可經電腦核查,所以到工人註冊處辦理申請手續時,毋須帶備有關正本及副本。

申請註冊方法︰

1. 電話登記預約:在欲辦理註冊申請日期前1至28天,致電28731911預約辦理註冊手續的日期、時間及辦事處(恕不接受傳真或電郵預約)。所有經電話登記預約的人士必須在約定時間前15分鐘到達工人註冊處辦理手續;或

2. 集體遞交申請表: 歡迎公司/僱主/團體協助所屬的工友集體遞交註冊申請表。請致電2873 3002向工人註冊處預約集體註冊名額,辦事處職員將安排指定日期,以收集有關的申請表格及所需文件,並會安排在同一期間為工友辦理註冊手續。

 

4) 工人註冊處處理一個申請平均需時多久?

如工友填寫申請表正確,亦按規定帶齊所需文件的正副本,則每位工友的申請平均需12至15分鐘去處理。

 

5) 建造業工人註冊證的有效期為多久?

建造業工人註冊證有效期正常為5年,工友可在註冊期滿日期前的6個月至該日期前的7個工作日前向註冊主任申請將其註冊續期。

 

6) 若工人持有與該申請工種有關的資格為《建造業工人註冊條例》附 1第4欄內所列的「其他資格」,申請費用是否只需繳付半費?為何會有這個規定?

如工友在其多個申請註冊工種中,其中一項申請持有與該申請工種有關的資格為《建造業工人註冊條例》附表1第4欄內所列的「其他資格」,則只需繳付註冊申請費用的一半。

由於一般「其他資格」為按有關法例要求而持有的特定工作資歷需按時續牌及繳付續牌費用,為盡量減低在申請工人註冊時對該等工友的負擔,故只收取半費。

 

7) 若同時申請多個工種,將如何收費?

若工友同時申請多個工種註冊,只須繳付其中一個申請註冊工種的費用。

如工友同時申請多個工種註冊,其中一個工種為「其他資格」,則該工友只需繳付較低收費的一個工種的申請費用。

 

8) 臨時註冊是否有截止日期?

未持有《建造業工人註冊條例》內所指由建造業議會或前建訓局或職訓局所頒發的技能測試證書或其他指明的認可資格(例如其他認可的註冊證書或牌照等)的工友,如能證明已具備6年或2年親身進行相關工種的工作經驗,便可分別申請成為註冊熟練技工(臨時)或註冊半熟練技工(臨時)。有關停止臨時註冊的截止日期,敬請留意日後議會的公佈。

註冊熟練技工(臨時) 必須在獲註冊後起計的3年內完成修讀合適的指明訓練課程或通過有關技能測試,才可以合資格申請註冊成為相關工種的註冊熟練技工,有關課程的停止接受報讀日期,敬請留意日後議會的公佈。

註冊半熟練技工(臨時) 必須在獲註冊後起計的3年內通過有關的中工工藝測試,才可以合資格申請註冊成為相關工種的註冊半熟練技工。

 

9) 獲臨時註冊的工人,若 3年內未能完成有關的指明訓練課程,或未能通過有關的技能測試,將有甚麼結果?

若臨時註冊的工友在3年內未能完成指定的技能測試及指明訓練課程,則該工友仍可憑有效的平安卡註冊為普通工人。

 

10) 何謂「指明訓練課程」?涵蓋甚麼內容?

指明訓練課程是專為註冊熟練技工(臨時)而設的培訓課程,工友在就讀課程及通過評核後,可獲正式註冊為註冊熟練技工。

課程的設計是以相關的技能測試為藍本,並經諮詢業界及工會代表而制訂,包括理論講解、實務示範及筆試或面試評核,課程的設計程度以不超越技能測試為原則。 理論講解的內容包括材料規格和應用、與該工種有關的特別安全須知、常見弱項、職業操守及良好施工工序的重溫。

為方便各工友,指明訓練課程的長度一般不會超過1日,在可行的情況下,會盡量安排晚間課程,以減低對工友造成的不便。

指明訓練課程的筆試其實是以選擇題方式進行,範圍只限於理論講解內容,不識字的工友,可由評核員以一問一答形式進行,所有工種指明訓練課程的收費劃一港幣150元正。

67個指明訓練課程已經全部推出,持有註冊熟練技工(臨時)資格的工友將個別接獲報讀指明訓練課程的通知書,敬請留意通知書內的報讀須知及內容。

 

11) 臨時註冊的工友在通過指明訓練課程後,是否可轉為正式註冊?

是。臨時註冊工友完成修讀有關工種的指明訓練課程後,即可申請轉為該工種的註冊熟練技工,屆時請到工人註冊處辦理由臨時註冊轉為正式註冊的手續。