Language

EN

Contact

Levy Guide No. 2 Guidelines relating to objection made to the Objections Board

Disclaimer

This publication is prepared by the Construction Industry Council (CIC) to provide guidance on the administration matters in relation to objection made to the Objections Board but is NOT intended to constitute any legal or other professional advice on the provisions of the Construction Industry Council Ordinance or the Industrial Training (Construction Industry) Ordinance. Furthermore, if there are any discrepancies between this publication and the two ordinances, the latter will prevail.

Enquiries

Enquiries on this publication may be made to and assistance may be sought from the Finance Department of CIC at –

7a/F, 95 Yue Kwong Road
Aberdeen, Hong Kong 
Tel - 2100 9200
Fax - 2100 9339
E-mail - levy@cic.hk

Objections by Levypayers

  1. A levypayer who disputes a levy assessment or surcharge may contact the responsible officer listed in the notice of assessment or notice of surcharge to understand the basis and details of the subject assessment and surcharge, if applicable.
  2. Attempts will be made to see if further explanation of the assessment or provisions of the law can remove misunderstanding and bring about agreement to the original assessment. In other cases, after consideration of the fresh and further information, a revision of the assessment may be proposed by the Construction Industry Council (“the Council”) in settlement of the queries / disagreement.
  3. In case where no agreement is possible, the contractor may consider referring his objection to the Objections Board for determination.
  4. However, under section 55(3) of the Construction Industry Council Ordinance (Cap. 587) (“the Ordinance”), a contractor must give notice of objection to the Council in writing within 21 days after he receives the notice of assessment or the notice of surcharge (as the case may be). Under section 55(4) of the Ordinance, a notice of objection shall state the grounds of objection and shall be accompanied by all written statements and other documentary evidence relied on by the objector.
  5. Under section 48 of the Ordinance, the contractor should pay the levy or surcharge, penalty or further penalty in accordance with section 46 even if he intends to make an objection under section 55.

Acknowledgement of Objections

  1. Upon receipt of an objection, the Finance Department will firstly examine whether it fulfils the requirement of a valid objection e.g. whether it is time-barred. If not, the Manager-Finance or an officer authorised by him will inform the levypayer of any defect promptly and advise of any action in paragraph 14 which could make it a valid objection.
  2. The staff of the Finance Department would –
    • check the accuracy of details contained in the notice of objection;
    • consider the grounds put forward by the contractor in support of his claim; and
    • clarify / obtain more information from the contractor on the case.
  3. Upon satisfaction of section 55(4) of the Ordinance, the Manager-Finance or an officer authorised by him would then acknowledge receipt of the Notice of Objection from the concerned contractor in the next working day.
  4. The observation of the Finance Department (e.g. whether similar objections have been received and how they were dealt with) together with the Notice of Objection would be submitted to the Objections Board for consideration within ten days of the receipt acknowledgement of the Notice of Objection. The above will be copied to the contractor for information.
  5. Upon receiving the observation from the Finance Department, the objector may provide the Objections Board with further information in writing within the next seven days.

Constitution of the Objections Board

  1. The Objections Board is an independent tribunal consisting of three persons drawn from the membership of the Council for the purpose of determining objections. Appointments are made by the Construction Industry Council under section 54 of the Ordinance. There is a convenor, and not more than two other members. Decisions are based on a majority vote.
  2. Under section 54(4) of the Ordinance, the Objections Board may determine its own procedures to be followed in relation to an objection made to the Objections Board.
  3. All documents relating to the work of the Objections Board are restricted.

Requirement of a Valid Objection under Sections 55(3) and 55(4) of the Ordinance

  1. For an objection to be valid, it must fulfill the following requirements:
    a. be made in writing and must be served on the Council within 21 days after the contractor receives the notice of assessment or the notice of surcharge (as the case may be) (Section 55(3)); and
    b. Under section 55(4), the notice shall state the grounds of objection to the assessment and/or surcharge imposed. It shall be accompanied by all written statements and other documentary evidence relied on by the objector (such as including but not limited to copies of relevant contract document, tender document, bill of quantities, or final payment certificate). The objection precludes any vague claim such as “the assessment is not agreed”. The grounds need not be stated in legal form; they can be expressed in ordinary language but they should be sufficiently explicit to direct the attention of the Objections Board to the particular aspects which the levypayer contends as erroneous.

(Note: To facilitate contractors wishing to make an objection, a form "Notice of Objection" for the purpose is prepared and can be downloaded – Notice of Objection)

Processing of Objections

  1. The Objections Board’s procedure is aimed at avoiding, as far as possible, any delay in dealing with objections. This can only be achieved if there is firstly a proper presentation of the objection by the levypayer, followed by a prompt reply to any further information requested by the Finance Department of the Council.
  2. In many cases further information or facts may be required before the Objections Board can determine the objection. These will be asked for as soon as possible after receipt of the notice of objection by the Finance Department. The prompt submission of these information will enable the objection to be dealt with expeditiously. Undue delay by a levypayer may result in the objection having to be determined thereafter.
  3. A proper presentation of the objection will involve not only a statement of the precise grounds of objection but also the furnishing of evidence and arguments in support of the contention that the assessment and/or surcharge is erroneous [paragraph 14(b) above].

Determination of an Objection by the Objections Board

  1. The Objections Board will consider every valid objection and within a reasonable time may confirm, cancel or reduce the levy or surcharge.
  2. In determining an objection, the Objections Board acts in a judicial capacity. It is regarded as a tribunal deciding an issue between the Council and the objecting levypayer.
  3. The onus of proving that the assessment and/or surcharge objected against is excessive or incorrect is on the objector. Failure to discharge this onus can invalidate the objection.
  4. In attempting to reach agreement or determining the objection, the Objections Board may by notice in writing require the levypayer to furnish such particulars as may be deemed necessary in connection with the objection. The objector may be required to produce all related contracts or other documents.
  5. The Objections Board will not consider any grounds other than the grounds contained in the objector’s statement of grounds for objection. The Objections Board may admit or reject any documentary evidence adduced.
  6. All objections are determined in camera, but official publication of the determination (if any) may be made in such a manner that the identity of the objector is not disclosed.

Conveyance and Execution of Objections

  1. Under section 56(3) of the Ordinance, the Council shall notify the objector in writing of the decision of the Objections Board within 28 days after the Council receives the Notice of Objection or, where that is not practicable, within a reasonable period.
  2. Under section 56(4) of the Ordinance, if a levy or surcharge is cancelled or reduced by the decision of Objections Board, the Council shall forthwith refund to the objector the amount of the levy or any amount, including any amount of the penalty or further penalty, that has been paid in excess (as the case may be).

Appeal to the District Court

  1. Pursuant to section 57 of the Ordinance, an objector who is aggrieved by a decision of the Objections Board may appeal to the District Court against that decision. An appeal shall be lodged within 30 days after the objector receives the notification of the decision.

Note: A flowchart for the objection process is shown below for reference.

Flowchart for Construction Industry Council Levy Objection

Note (1) : Prompt submission of information will enable the objection to be dealt with expeditiously. Undue delay by a levypayer may result in the objection having to be determined thereafter.
Note (2) : Under section 56(3) of the Ordinance, the Council shall notify the objector in writing of the decision of the Objections Board within 28 days after the Council receives the Notice of Objection or, where that is not practicable, within a reasonable period.

* An objector who is aggrieved by a decision of the Objections Board may appeal to the District Court within 30 days against the decision of the Objections Board. (Para 26)

 

- End -


TOP

跳至主要內容

第2號有關向處理反對事宜委員會提出反對的指引

徵款簡介第2號有關向處理反對事宜委員會提出反對的指引

免責聲明

本刊由建造業議會(議會)編寫,以提供有關向處理反對事宜委員會提出反對的行政事宜指引,惟並不擬作構成對《建造業議會條例》或《工業訓練(建造業)條例》的任何法律或其他專業意見。另外,倘本刊與該兩條法例出現任何歧義,則以該兩條法例為準。

 

查詢

有關本刊的查詢或尋求協助,可向議會財務部提出,地址為:

香港香港仔漁光道95號7a樓
電話 - 2100 9200
傳真 - 2100 9339
電郵 - levy@cic.hk

 

徵款付款人提出的反對

  1. 如徵款付款人對徵款或附加費評估提出質疑,可聯絡列於評估/繳款通知書上的負責職員,以了解有關評估的基礎及細節(如適用)。
  2. 負責職員會向徵款付款人進一步解釋評估的內容或法律條文,嘗試使徵款付款人消除誤解,並就原來的評估達至共識。在其他情況下,建造業議會(「議會」)於考慮了補充及進一步資料後,可能提議修訂有關評估,以平息有關查詢/爭議。
  3. 如爭議未能達至共識,承建商可考慮向處理反對事宜委員會提出反對,待其作出裁定。
  4. 然而,根據《建造業議會條例》(第587章)(《條例》)第55(3)條,承建商必須在收到評估通知或附加費通知(視屬何情況而定)後的21天內向議會提出書面反對通知。根據《條例》第55(4)條,反對通知須述明反對理由,並須附有反對者所據的所有書面陳述及其他文件證據。
  5. 根據《條例》第48條,承建商即使擬根據第55條提出反對,仍須按照《條例》第46條繳付徵款、附加費、罰款或另加罰款。

 

確認收妥反對通知

  1. 當收到反對通知,財務部將首先審查該通知是否符合有效反對的條件,例如是否在時效內發出。倘不符合條件,財務經理或其授權職員會盡快通知徵款付款人有關缺失,及按照在第14段的指引條文成為有效的反對。
  2. 財務部職員將會 -
    • 核對反對通知書內所列載詳情的準確性;
    • 考慮由承建商提出支持其申索反對的理由;及
    • 向承建商釐清/獲得更多關於個案的資料。
  3. 在符合《條例》第55(4)條下,財務經理或其授權職員會在下一個工作天向承建商認收有關的反對通知書。
  4. 財務部在認收反對通知書後的十天內,會將評論(例如是否曾收到類似的反對及如何處理有關反對)以及該反對通知書呈交予處理反對事宜委員會考慮。以上資料將會抄送予承建商參考。
  5. 反對者在收到財務部的評論後的七天內,可向反對事宜委員會提交書面的補充資料。

處理反對事宜委員會的組成

  1. 處理反對事宜委員會是一獨立的審裁小組,包括三位由議會成員名單中選出的人士,目的是對反對事宜作出裁決。根據《條例》第54條,建造業議會進行有關委任的工作。成員包括一位召集人,以及不超過兩位其他成員。有關裁決建基於過半票數。
  2. 根據《條例》第54(4)條,處理反對事宜委員會可自由決定本身所依循的程序來處理提出的反對。
  3. 所有處理反對事宜委員會的工作文件均為限閱文件。

 

根據《條例》第55(3)及55(4)的有效反對的條件

  1. 一宗有效的反對,必須符合以下條件:
    a. 以書面提出及必須在承建商收到評估通知或附加費通知(視屬何情況而定)後的21天內送達議會(《條例》第55(3));
    b. 根據《條例》第55(4)條,通知書必須陳述反對評估或附加費的理由,並附有反對者所陳述的證明文件(例如包括但不限於有關的合約文件、招標文件、建築工料清單、或最後繳款證明的副本)。有關反對不包括任何含糊的申索,諸如「不同意有關評估」。反對理由不必以法律形式闡述;可以日常用語表達,惟反對理由必須充分明顯,能引導處理反對事宜委員會注意到徵款付款人聲稱的錯誤。

(註:為協助欲作出反對的承建商,一份有關的表格《反對通知書》以供下載:反對通知書

反對事宜的處理

  1. 處理反對事宜委員會的程序是以儘可能避免延誤處理有關處理反對事宜為目標。要達到此目標,首先有賴徵款付款人恰當地提供反對內容,並迅速回應議會財務部的要求,提供進一步資料。
  2. 在多數情況下,處理反對事宜委員會在作出裁定前,可能需要進一步資料或事實證明。財務部收到反對通知書後,會儘快提出要求有關資料或事實證明。徵款付款人應迅速呈交此等資料,裨助快捷處理有關反對事宜。任何不當的延誤,則可能會造成在附加資料收妥後,才能對有關反對作出裁定。
  3. 恰當地提供反對內容不單涉及一份確切反對理由的陳述(上列第14(b)段),並且包括提供支持聲稱有關評估為錯誤的證據及論點。

 

處理反對事宜委員會就每宗反對的裁定

  1. 處理反對事宜委員會須在一段合理時間內就每宗有效反對作出考慮,並維持、取消或減低有關的徵款或附加費。
  2. 在裁定反對時,處理反對事宜委員會是以司法身份行事。處理反對事宜委員會被視為判定議會及作出反對的徵款付款人之間,爭議事宜的審裁處。
  3. 證明所反對的評估實為過多或不正確的舉證責任,在於反對者身上。不履行此項舉證責任,有關反對即可作廢。
  4. 在嘗試達成共識或裁定有關反對申請的過程中,處理反對事宜委員會可透過書面通知,要求徵款付款人提供認為有需要而關於評估的相關細則。徵款付款人可能需要出示所有相關合約或其他文件。
  5. 處理反對事宜委員會將不會考慮未有載入反對理由聲明中的其他理據。處理反對事宜委員會可以接納或駁回任何援引的文件證據。
  6. 所有反對均以非公開形式裁定,如有需要,有關裁定可能以不披露反對者身份的方式被正式發佈。

 

傳遞及處置反對

  1. 根據《條例》第56(3)條規定,議會在收到反對通知書後的28天內,將處理反對事宜委員會的決定以書面方式通知反對者,如上述日期並非切實可行,則須在一段合理期間內,通知反對者。
  2. 根據《條例》第56(4)條,如反對事宜委員會決定取消或減低某項徵款或附加費,則議會須隨即將多繳的徵款或罰款或另加罰款(視屬何情況而定)退還反對者。

 

向區域法院提出上訴

  1. 根據《條例》第57條,反對者如對處理反對事宜委員會的決定感到受屈,可針對該決定向區域法院提出上訴。上訴須在反對者收到有關決定的通知後的30天內提出。

註: 一份有關反對過程的流程圖已備妥作參考。

建造業議會反對徵款過程的流程圖

flowchart_levy_objection_chi.jpg

註1 : 徵款付款人應迅速呈交此等資料,裨助快捷處理有關反對事宜。任何不當的延誤,則可能會造成在附加資料收妥後,才能對有關反對作出裁定。
註2 : 根據《條例》第56(3)條規定,議會在收到反對通知書後的28天內,將處理反對事宜委員會的決定以書面方式通知反對者,如上述日期並非切實可行,則須在一段合理期間內,通知反對者。

* 反對者如對處理反對事宜委員會的決定感到受屈,可在收到有關決定的通知後的30天內向區域法院提出上訴。(26段)

 

- 完 -

最後更新:2018-07-26 18:12:23