Skip to main content
CIC

ᐅ Turning the Impossible to Possible Together: Speedy Construction of the Community Isolation Facilities

Dream big, think big – together, we can turn mission impossible into reality. In 32 days, with the strong support from the Central People’s Government (CPG) and the Liaison Office of the CPG (LOCPG), the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government (HKSARG) delivered 20,400 beds in six Community Isolation Facilities amid the early days of the fifth wave of the COVID-19 outbreak. Both the scale and the speed of the entire construction project are unprecedented. Apart from adoption of advanced technology, it takes much team work to give birth to this miracle in the history of the Hong Kong construction industry and provide such quantity in a short time with high efficiency.

At the “CIC – See What I See” event, Ms. Winnie Ho, the designated Secretary for Housing has shared with us the success ingredients of this legendary journey in her capacity as Director of Architectural Services. In hindsight, she sees this massive challenge as a “life-saving mission” that could benefit every one of us in Hong Kong in the battle against COVID-19.

Collaborative Leadership Ignites Team Spirit

Walking back the memory lane, Winnie said the key to success was the strong support of the CPG. It only took the team seven days to complete the Tsing Yi Community Isolation Facility, which could house about 1,300 quarantine units and offer around 3,900 beds. Winnie said that the sourcing of beds could be “a big headache”. But thanks to the staunch support from the CPG, the team could find factories to produce all the necessary equipment and components for the facilities within a short time.

Winnie recalled that with the rapid development of the outbreak, the whole project team raced against time. For example, the supply of water, electricity as well as drainage services have been indispensable to construction work on-site. At that time, the leaders of the LOCPG, the HKSARG as well as project contractor China State Construction International Holdings Limited personally supervised and conducted many multi-party meetings with the goal of resolving problems immediately. Winnie’s team read up blueprints, finalised plans and liaised with colleagues from relevant government departments to ensure that the work could be done on time. This kind of intense communication motivated all teams to work closely with each other. Together with the resources and the highly skilled team pulled in by the contractor, the first phase of six quarantine camps finished construction and entered into service in just 32 days.

Winnie felt that all parties involved in the project shared the same mindset and vision. Leaders took up the roles of “commanders-in-chief” and “deputy commanders-in-chief” in the team, shouldered their responsibility and streamlined the workflow with a determination to prioritise the construction work. Such team cohesiveness enhanced efficiency and performance. Every time when Winnie raised a problem, the team would put up their hands and respond, and contributed immensely by coming up with effective solutions. With this high level of mutual trust, the team morale was high.

One of the big challenges of the project has been that there was no precedent to follow. The design of the quarantine units and ancillary facilities had to reach the same standard as the existing regulations and requirements, and also to meet the actual needs of operational teams. Seamless coordination work was essential. The management team was required to work on and review the design, oversee construction materials production and monitor on-site work simultaneously.

These episodes demonstrated the importance for everyone in the team to understand the mission and purposes behind their work, especially as the construction project engaged a maximum of 15,000 workers at the same time, with half working in the factories in the Mainland and the other half in the work sites in Hong Kong. Without this kind of calling, it would be challenging to make sure everyone is marching towards the same goal.

“Time is life. We are saving lives. With this mindset, we are not taking this merely as another construction job – it is a life-saving mission to help Hong Kong get rid of COVID-19,” Winnie said. “It’s possible. We call this the ‘Spirit of Community Isolation Facility’(方艙精神). This spirit comes collectively from this big group of people. We didn’t set out with a spirit in mind at the beginning. But in the end, this emerged.”

When there is a will, there is a way. The construction speed for the first phase of six Community Isolation Facilities was 60 times faster than that in 2020. Between February and March 2022, around 600 beds were added every day while that in 2020 was 10.

Launching ground for pioneering construction technology

Apart from the determination of each and every single team member, the widespread use of technology accelerated the workflow at construction sites of these Community Isolation Facilities. Many construction related technologies are ready for use, what matters the most is how users could manifest the full potential of technologies to serve their own purposes. In a sense, these sites are the launching grounds for pioneering construction technology. After careful experimentation on large scale projects, innovation and insights come up naturally. The building of quarantine camps proves that the construction industry can enhance quality and speed, without compromising the safety and environmental standards.

Winnie mentioned that the quarantine camps have adopted Modular Integrated Construction (MiC) units to minimize the on-site work time. Workers would simply connect these units to water, electricity and sewage systems available on site.

The use of MiC units encountered a new logistical challenge. To deliver these units within a short window of time, the construction team had to rely on delivery via sea transport. Each shipment could send around 30-40 units to the construction sites. That meant there was a need for more barging points and China State had to build them quickly.

Winnie added that another thing her team learnt this time was that the factory could produce MiC units at a rate faster than the construction site could digest. That created a demand for holding sites. At one of the project sites, there were as many as 10 holding sites to store the MiC units to be deployed. One mega project of another government department had a works site located on one of the holding sites, and the officers agreed to move out within two days. “I’m so grateful. At that time, everybody gave us their strongest support and understanding,” Winnie said.

Under this arrangement, the Digital Works Supervision System could come in handy. The system allows users to keep track of the origin, delivery, and latest status of all MiC units in one glance. It keeps users fully informed real-time.

Technology can provide users a new perspective. The use of drones allowed Winnie to inspect the site from the sky. At one construction site, she relied on drones to check the handling of wastes, for confirmation that proper procedures were implemented. Moreover, drones could “fly” with the lighting system to allow operations to continue at night, which was particularly useful for such an urgent project which required many workers to work around the clock.

"Looking at the image captured by a drone at height is even better than seeing the site on the spot,” Winnie said. “When I stand on the spot, I just see a lot of mud. But when you fly a drone, you can see anything you want to see."

China State also made use of their own developed Defect Monitoring Tools to speed up the handover process. Given that quarantine camps are highly repetitive in terms of structure, the company has developed a mobile application to allow users to tick the boxes in the checklist at ease and organise any necessary follow-ups.

In one case, there were some defect items for improvement at one project. With the mobile application, workers knew where and how to tackle those problems, e.g. putting back signages and fixing a loosened handle. They could then take a picture to show the work done. The supervising team thus could stay in the office and check the progress from their mobile devices, saving the efforts for another round of on-site inspection. Within three hours, more than half of the issues were solved.

Setting up a Common Data Environment (CDE) to collect, manage and disseminate data and project information throughout the project lifecycle is gaining traction and attention in the construction industry. “It is essential to continuously collect data about and identify common defects, analyse how they can be fixed and improved,” Winnie said.

Photo courtesy: China State Construction International Holdings Limited

Caring culture in practice

What touched Winnie deeply was the caring culture in the construction sites and Community Isolation Facilities. While the workers spent their energy and time to finish their work to look after the people of Hong Kong, they were also being looked after. The care stations on the ground, ranging from hair salons to canteens, are still vivid in her mind.

The Community Isolation Facilities also arranged celebration of Children’s Day, Easter and Ramadan to bring a festive atmosphere to the occupants. A cartoon character “Hero of Community Isolation Facility(方艙俠)” was created by the operator Security Bureau to bring in positive energy and for easy communication with the occupants. Winnie and her colleagues also often use instant messaging apps stickers of the Hero to encourage each other.

Construction 2.0 driven by the younger generation

Looking forward, “Construction 2.0” is not a squishy concept. It is our future that we can fully grasp.

One day, Winnie talked to a smart guy who was serving as a team leader at the information technology department at China State. She assumed that he would have studied relevant disciplines such as IT and computer, but turned out he started as a rather common frontline construction expertise. This smart man managed to turn his interest into skillsets applicable to advancement of construction work. Winnie still found this example inspiring.

Indeed, many young engineers that came from government departments, the public sector and contractors said that their exposures in this project were eye-opening. The MiC method impressed them the most with its ability to shorten lead time and raise productivity. So long as young people could equip themselves, they could continue to serve the Hong Kong society at different roles.

Keeping the spirit

“You can see the team members are so proud of their work in building this facility to protect Hong Kong,” Winnie said. “I am very proud of my team. At that time, everybody faced a lot of difficulties. But not one of them said ‘no’, nor being hesitant. They all came in immediately when I called upon them.”

Winnie’s team is still working on two Community Isolation Facilities construction projects, one in Penny’s Bay and the other one in Kai Tak. Both are scheduled to finish within this month. Maybe there will be new challenges, but attitude determines success, no doubt the “Spirit of the Community Isolation Facility” will prevail and the team can overcome all the upcoming new challenges, with one united goal and the generous support from our country.

Last Updated: 2022-06-21 12:12:35

跳至主要內容
建造業議會 - CIC

ᐅ 建造傳奇:方艙設施建設速度創紀錄

「志存高遠、同心協力」,憑著信念和信任,我們能完成不可能的任務!在第五波新冠疫情爆發的初期,在中央人民政府及香港中聯辦的大力支持下,香港特別行政區政府在僅僅32天內建造6個社區隔離設施,提供20,400張床位。整個項目的建設規模和速度皆為前所未見,團隊合作以新的建築技術加快建造流程,真正達到「提速、提量、提效」,締造了香港建造業歷史的奇蹟。

即將上任房屋局局長的何永賢女士 (Winnie)早前以建築署署長身份於「建造業議會︰香港建造新視野」活動中,重溫今年二月至三月期間團隊的難忘經歷,並與我們分享這項傳奇工程背後的成功要素。事後看來,她認為這份艱鉅的任務足以拯救生命,有助香港人對抗新冠疫情。

協同領導燃點團隊無間精神

回顧過去,Winnie指項目成功的首要關鍵是中央人民政府的鼎力支援。其中以青衣社區隔離設施為例,項目團隊僅用七天時間建成1,300個檢疫單位,共提供約 3,900個床位。Winnie說單是採購睡床便教人頭痛,但在中央人民政府的大力支持下,團隊很快就找到工廠生產設施所需的所有設備和部件。

她憶述當時隨著疫情的急速蔓延,整個項目團隊要與時間競賽。供水、供電和渠務等支援對於現場施工是不可或缺的。當時中聯辦、香港特別行政區政府以及項目承建商中國建築國際集團的領導人員都親自督導及召開多方協作會議,務求盡快解決難題。Winnie 的團隊解讀藍圖,制訂計劃,並與相關政府部門的同事聯繫,以確保工程按時交付。這種深度的溝通推動所有團隊成員彼此緊密合作,加上承建商動員高質素團隊和注入大量資源,促成六個隔離設施的首階段工程只需32天便告完成,並且迅速投入服務。

Winnie 感到團隊每位成員懷著共同心態和願景。領導者擔當起「總指揮」、「副總指揮」的角色,肩負己任,簡化工作流程,優先處理工程,凝聚團隊,使工作效率提昇和表現更佳。每當Winnie提出問題,團隊內總會有人主動回應,並貢獻所長,建議有效的解決方案。由於彼此互相信賴,團隊士氣高昂。

項目的一大挑戰是沒有先例可循。檢疫單位和輔助設施的設計既要與現行的設計規定和標準看齊,亦要兼顧施工團隊的實際需要。天衣無縫的協調至關重要。項目管理團隊需要參與及審核設計、留意建材供應及生產、以及監管施工進度。

透過今次團隊的經歷,證明讓團隊仝人都了解工作背後的使命和目標之重要性,尤其像這類大型項目,僱用建築工人於高峰期多達15,000 名(內地工廠與香港地盤各佔一半),假若團隊成員欠缺使命感,那就難讓眾人皆朝同一目標進發。

「時間就是生命。我們正在拯救生命。我們不把這個項目當作普通的建築工程,我們設法保護市民生命,幫助香港儘快克服新冠疫情。」 Winnie說。「我們認為『方艙精神』即是『這是可能的』思維。這種精神源自我們龐大的團隊,起初我們並無預設任何想法,然而這種精神不經意地湧現了。」

有志者事竟成。首階段六個社區隔離設施的興建速度相較2020年快60倍。在2022年2月至3月,每天新增床位約有600張,而在2020年則只能每天新增10張。

前沿建築技術試驗場

團隊上下一心以及廣泛地應用科技,加快了建造社區隔離設施的工作流程。儘管現時有許多建築相關的科技面世,最重要的還是用戶懂得充分發揮科技的潛力,實踐目標。某程度上,這個項目是前沿建築技術的試驗場。科技經過大型項目的實測後,創新的方法和洞見隨之而來。建造隔離營的經驗證明,建造業不用降低安全和環保標準,仍能提高質量和生產速度。

Winnie 提及隔離營採用組裝合成建築法(MiC)的單位,盡量減少在地盤的施工時間。工人只需將這些單位接駁至工地的食水、電力和排污系統即可。

不過,選用組裝合成建築法亦為物流帶來新的挑戰。務求在短時間內交付單位,施工團隊只能依賴海路運送。每次運貨只能向工地運送大約 30-40 個單位,這表示中國建築必須需趕快打造更多躉船駁運站。

Winnie 還補充多一點,她與團隊發現工廠生產 MiC 單位的速度較工地裝嵌單位的速度為快,這就衍生對暫存點的需求。其中一個項目需要多達 10 個暫存點以存放快將組裝的 MiC 單位。有一個大型政府建築項目的地盤位於其中一個暫存點,同事答允在兩天內遷出。她說:「衷心感激那時大家給予我們無限的支持和理解。」

這時候,數碼工程監督系統便大派用場。系統實時追踪所有MiC 單位的來源、運輸和最新狀態,一目了然,讓用戶充份知悉狀況。

科技為用戶開拓嶄新的視野。Winnie 借助無人機的視角從高空檢視工地,她採用無人機檢查某個工地處理建築廢料的情況,確保恰當的程序已被妥善執行。此外,無人機可以把照明系統「飛起」,便利大量工人在夜間繼續作業,對於需要全天候工作的緊急項目,優點更為顯著。

Winnie 說:「看無人機高空拍攝的影像甚至比現場勘察還好。」「當我站在工地時,我只看到很多泥巴,但使用無人機可讓你看到任何想看的事物。」

中國建築還使用自行開發的執漏檢測工具 (Defect Monitoring Tools) 加快交付質量的流程。由於多個隔離設施的結構相似,他們開發手機應用程式,讓用戶輕鬆地在檢測清單逐項標示進度,其後安排跟進。

曾經有項目的細節出現瑕疵需要改善,透過手機應用程式的提示,工人會清楚知道地點及解決方法,例如放回標示和修復鬆脫的手把等。修正後工人拍照展示實況,監督組接著在辦公室使用手機查看進度,省去現場檢查的精力,在三小時內已解決了超過半數的問題。

建立一個可於項目生命週期中收集、管理和分發數據和項目信息的共通數據環境近來越見流行,獲得業界高度關注。Winnie說:「我們必須持續收集並識別常見問題的數據,分析如何將其修復及改善。」

相片鳴謝:中國建築國際集團

小節實踐關愛文化

社區隔離設施及工地散發的關愛文化,亦教 Winnie 深深感動。當工人付出精力和時間做實事,為香港人的福祉拼搏,他們也得到關顧。工地為他們設立幸福小站的髮廊和食堂,至今仍歷歷在目。

兒童節、復活節和齋戒月的節日氣氛,亦在社區隔離設施洋溢。為傳遞正能量和與使用者有效溝通,負責管理的保安局創造了一個卡通人物「方艙俠」。Winnie 和同事也會常常使用它的即時通訊應用程式貼圖,來替對方加油打氣。

年青力量推動建造業2.0

展望未來,「建造業 2.0」絕非模糊的概念,它是我們能夠掌握的將來。

有天,Winnie與一位在中國建築擔任信息技術部組長的有型男士交談,她以為對方曾修習相關學科,但原來對方以往曾是一般建造業的前線人員。這位男士努力將興趣轉化為適用於建築工程的科技才能, Winnie 仍然覺得這個活生生的例子充滿啟發性。

許多來自政府部門、公營機構和承建商的年青工程師表示,這次工程的經歷令他們大開眼界。 他們對組裝合成建築法印象最深刻,因為它能縮短建造時間和提高生產力。年青人只要好好裝備自己,他們在不同崗位仍能繼續服務香港社會。

秉持方艙精神

Winnie 說:「團隊成員對有份參與這項保護香港的工程,感到非常光榮」。「我為我的團隊自豪。那時大家遇到很多困難,但沒有人會說『不』,也沒人猶豫。當我打電話給他們,他們立即答應並迎難而上。」

Winnie與團隊仍在孜孜不倦,為兩個分別位於竹篙灣和啟德的社區隔離設施趕工,項目預計在本月內完成。新挑戰或許出現,但心態造就成功。毫無疑問,憑藉國家的全力支持,團隊眾志成城,加上「方艙精神」煥發的鬥志,團隊將會順利跨過新障礙,不負使命。

最後更新:2022-06-21 12:12:35