[for discussion]

Composition of CIC Committees

(I) Purpose

• This paper seeks Members' views on the need for maintaining continuity of the CIC Committees following the new CIC appointments made on 1 February 2008.

(II) CIC Committees

• CIC set up the following Committees in early 2007 –

Committee	Chairmen*
Committee on Administration and Finance	Mr Keith Kerr
Committee on Construction Site Safety	Mr Thomas Kwok
Committee on Environment and Technology	Mr Conrad Wong
Committee on Manpower Training and Development	Mr Billy wong
Committee on Procurement	Mr Russell Black
Committee on Subcontracting	Mr S S Lee

^{*}Elected uncontested at 2nd CIC meeting held on 21 March 2007.

• The following Committees were formed on 1 January 2008 upon the amalgamation of CIC and the former CITA –

Committee	Chairman/ Convenor
Construction Industry Training Board (CITB)	Mr Billy Wong (Chairman)
Objections Committee (OC)	Ms Teresa Cheng (Convenor)

(III) Way Forward

- The Chairman/Convenor and Members of CITB and OC were appointed by CIC in accordance with the CIC Ordinance respectively to serve for one year starting on 1 January 2008 and should therefore continue to serve until 31 December 2008.
- The six Committees formed in early 2007 are still needed to taking forward the priority tasks of CIC. Since they have been in operation for only one year, these Committees should continue to operate with the current line-up of Chairmen and members for maintaining continuity.
- New CIC Members will be invited to sign up for the six Committees following the guideline discussed at the 2nd CIC meeting on 21 March 2007 that each Member should optimally join two Committees.

