Skip to main content
CIC

Why MiC

 

Construction Industry in Hong Kong

The construction industry is a vital sector in the economy of Hong Kong, employing almost half a million workers. Based on the forecast by the Construction Industry Council (CIC) in December 2017, annual construction expenditure will exceed $250 billion, or approximately 5% of GDP, within the next 5 years. The construction industry has an essential bearing on the economic growth and long-term development of Hong Kong, and the livelihood of its people. However, it is facing some challenges in recent years:

  • Shortage and ageing of the labour force affecting productivity

  • High construction cost

  • Demands for better safety, quality, and environmental friendliness in construction

The situation will become worse in the next few years as the demand for construction services continues to rise. It is time to find ways to enhance productivity for the construction industry’s future.

Introducing Innovative Construction Technology

In order to sustain economic growth and enhance the financial competitiveness, we need to harness the advanced technologies available, as demonstrated by successful economies in other parts of the world. The HKSAR Government attaches high importance to pressing ahead at full steam with promoting and developing innovation and technology. In the 2017 and 2018 Policy Address, the Chief Executive announced a number of new initiatives to support the development of innovation and technology in Hong Kong. In the 2018-19 Budget, Financial Secretary proposed to set up a $1 billion Construction Innovation and Technology Fund (CITF) to boost the capacities of enterprises and practitioners in the construction industry, to adopt new technology, and to support the industry to harness innovation and technology. The CITF opened for application since 2nd October 2018.

Innovative Construction Method

Modular Integrated Construction (MiC) is an innovative construction method. By adopting the concept of “factory assembly followed by on-site installation”, MiC helps to ease some of the current challenges faced by the local construction industry.

MiC is one of the identified supporting technologies under the CITF scheme. The CITF helps fund the industry on a matching basis for those industry stakeholders who wish to employ consultants for a MiC project, or to purchase machines and components in relation to MiC. The aim is to encourage wider adoption of this innovative construction method in the construction industry, with a view to improving the productivity, quality, safety and environmental performance of construction projects.

Last Updated: 2019-10-08 11:43:22

跳至主要內容
建造業議會 - CIC

前言

 

香港建造業概況

建造業是香港經濟的重要支柱,總建造業就業人口接近五十萬。根據建造業議會於2017年12月發表的建造工程量預測,未來五年每年整體建築工程開支預計超過2,500億元,佔本地生產總值約5%。建造業的生產力對香港的經濟增長和長遠發展,以及改善民生至關重要。然而,近年建造業面對不少挑戰,包括:

  • 勞動力短缺及老化影響生產力

  • 高昂的建造成本

  • 安全、品質環保要求提升

根據預測建造產出估算,未來10年建造業的需求將進一步增加,而之前所提及的情況將日趨惡化。香港建造業必須找到提高生產力的方法,現在正正是找出建造業未來發展路向的時候。

引進創新建築科技

為維持經濟增長及提高競爭力,一如世界各地成功的經濟體,我們需要能夠駕馭先進科技。香港特區政府非常重視推動和發展創新科技。行政長官在2017年及2018年的施政報告中宣布了多項支持香港創新科技發展的新措施,而財政司司長在2018-19年的財政預算案演辭中亦建議撥款十億元成立建造業創新及科技基金 (基金),以提升企業及從業員應用新技術的能力,並支援業界應用創新科技。基金已於2018年10月2日起正式接受申請

創新建築方法

「組裝合成」建築法是一種創新的建築方法。透過「先裝後嵌」的概念,「組裝合成」建築法有助紓緩本地建造業當前面對的一些挑戰。

「組裝合成」建築法作為基金的重點資助項目,業界如需就採用此技術聘請工程顧問、購買特別機械或相關組件,基金都會以配對方式資助,鼓勵業界更廣泛使用創新建築方法及新科技,以提升建築項目的生產力、建造質素、安全和環保效益。

 

最後更新:2019-02-28 19:09:56